We use cookies on all our websites to gather anonymous data to improve your experience of our websites and serve relevant ads that may be of interest to you. Please refer to the cookies policy to find out more.

By continuing, scrolling the page or clicking a link, you agree to the use of cookies.

Board of Governors


Professor Steven Haberman

Chair of the Board of Governors

Steven was appointed Chair of the Board of Governors in June 2017. He’s currently Professor of Actuarial Science at Bayes (formerly Cass) Business School, City, University of London. From 2002 to 2012, he was Deputy Dean and Director of Cass Business School, and then Dean for three years to the end of 2015.

Steven graduated in mathematics at the University of Cambridge. He qualified as a Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries in 1975, and obtained his PhD and DSc in Actuarial Science from City University. He’s an Honorary Fellow of the Italian Institute of Actuaries. He’s also been a Fellow of the Royal Statistical Society and of the Institute of Mathematics and its Application.

Steven worked at Prudential Assurance and for the Government Actuary's Department and was a member of the Council of the Institute of Actuaries for two terms. He’s currently a member of Legal and General's Longevity Science Panel and has also been:

  • a member of TheCityUK Advisory Council
  • Governor of the City of London Academy (Islington)
  • a member of the External Advisory Panel to the Morris Review of the UK Actuarial Profession
  • a founder member of the Financial Reporting Council's Board for Actuarial Standards.

He’s co-authored five books and written over 190 papers on a wide range of topics, including mortality and morbidity models, annuities, insurance pricing and pensions. His papers have won research prizes from:

  • the Institute of Actuaries (UK)
  • Society of Actuaries (US), and
  • the International Actuarial Association.

Steven has successfully supervised 32 doctorial students. In 2018, he was awarded an honorary Doctor of Science degree by the University of Haifa for his contributions to actuarial science.