We use cookies on all our websites to gather anonymous information about your visit that helps us to make improvements and increase performance. By continuing you are consenting to these cookies.

If you would like more information or would like to change your cookie preferences, please visit our cookies page.

Specialist qualifications

Certificate in Consumer Debt Collection (CertDC®)

CertDC is the specialist qualification for professionals working in debt collection and recovery departments, providing you with the required knowledge and practical skills to excel in your everyday work and career.

About the qualification

CertDC is the benchmark qualification in the debt collection sector covering the new FCA standards. Developed in partnership with leading industry practitioners, the qualification teaches the key legislative standards for effective management of compliance and the essential skills for working in consumer debt collection.

Your studies will cover the concept, scope and obligations, FCA regulations and legislations, and the techniques and methods to employ in your role. It is the only distance-learning qualification in the industry for debt collection staff and meets the apprenticeship trailblazer standard.

The Certificate in Consumer Debt Collection is a Level 3 qualification registered with Ofqual in the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF).

Key information

  • Registration is open year-round
  • Comprehensive study materials are provided
  • Multiple-choice exam assessment 
  • On-demand exams in over 150 nationwide locations with same day results
  • Upon completion, you are able to use the ‘CertDC' designation after your name
CPQ Blue Testimonial
Not only did the qualification provide me with an improved knowledge of Consumer Debt Collection, but it provides evidence of my knowledge. I found the materials well laid out and easy to study. They really consolidated my existing knowledge and provided me with fresh insights and understanding of why certain processes are in place and how important the relationship with the customer is in the process. Steve Hewitt - Director, Steve Hewitt Training and Development Ltd


CertDC consists of three units.

Unit 1 - The Debt Collection Environment (DCE)


The history of debt in the UK, key concepts and types of debt and the inter-relationships between those involved in debt collections.

Unit 2 - The UK Regulatory Environment and Debt Collection (UKD)


The legislative and regulatory framework which governs the area of debt collection.

Unit 3 - The Debt Collection Process (DCP)


Techniques and methods to employ in your role.



Online access to study texts is available immediately after registration has been completed and hard copies will also be provided. The study text contains review questions and activities to support your learning. A specimen paper for each unit is also provided to test your learning.

The total qualification time for this qualification is 180 hours.


CertDC is assessed through a single two and a half hour objective exam, split into three sections:

    Unit 1 - DCE:
    30 multiple-choice questions
    Unit 2 - UKD:
    40 multiple-choice questions
    Unit 3 - DCP:
    10 multiple-choice questions and four case studies, each with five linked multiple-choice questions

This exam can be taken at over 150 Pearson VUE centres nationwide with the result provided on the day.

View information on examination booking and venues


Looking for further information


For registration and other enquiries please contact Student and Customer Services on +44 (0)12 2781 8609.